The church was consecrated in 1903.
It is a long nave church with lower and narrower aisles on each side. The church has approx. 275 seats. In the early years, the church had little decoration. Until 1938, the altarpiece was the only artistic motif. It was painted by the Askim artist August Eiebakke and is entitled "The Good Shepherd".
The church was given to "Mysen building municipality" by Marie and Anton H. Mysen. Anton H Mysen, a very active mayor and business developer. In 2019, a bust of Anton H Mysen was unveiled outside the church building. It was given by Sigrid and Kjell Arnbjørn Mysen.
The Mysen church was designed by architect Hjalmar Welhaven, and is inspired by stave church architecture
The church's baptismal font is located on the north side of the chancel arch. The pulpit is in the corresponding place in the south. It has also been decorated by Per Vigeland in line with the works throughout the church. The altarpiece shows a figure of Christ against the background of the view from Monaryggen. The windows in the church are characterized by beautiful stained glass. On either side of the exit door hang two woven carpets made by the tapestry workshop Rønnaug Vaa from Skiptvet. The church's organ was built by the Danish firm Bruno Christensen & Sønner and was completed in 1985.